Dear rose friends,

Welcome to our new website .

The World Federation of Rose Societies represent rose lovers around the world. Our goal is to expand contact among them and increase the flow of knowledge about the rose.

The website has been rebuilt through a professional company in order to make it more visually, appealing, and responsive to ensure that you can access up to date information about our activities. I hope you will enjoy the new look and feel and the quality of its content.

A global sponsorship agreement has been signed between WFRS and Felco SA.

Joining forces with the highly reputed horticulturally based partner Felco SA, is for me, a most fitting collaboration. The Company is the worldwide leader in the production of high precision professional secateurs and pruning tools. The top quality of their tools made in Switzerland is a real pledge to ensure a highly performed pruning of our roses.

WFRS events are the unique occasion to meet many roses lovers share experiences and cultivate new friendships around the globe.

It is now time to registered to the 19th World rose Convention in Adélaide. South Australia is renowned for all aspects of rose culture. You will enjoy the lectures and see many beautiful rose gardens as well as iconic Australian attractions. I strongly recommend that you physically take part at the event, but if for any reason you are not able to attend, please proceed with the on-line registration.

Forthcoming WFRS events include the 15th International Heritage Rose Conference in Brussels in June 2023; the Regional Convention in Sweden in 2024, and the 20th World Convention in 2025 in Japan.

As the current serving WFRS President, I really hope to see many friends in Adélaide this year to celebrate the rose together.

If you are not yet a member of a rose society, I urge you to join one. The WFRS website is a very good facility to find the best place to locate the one closer to you. This would further enhance your knowledge and sheer enjoyment of the Queen of all Flowers.


Kind Regards

Henrianne de Briey


This sumptuous hardback volume commemorates the Golden Jubilee of the WFRS. The 180 pages delve into the Federation’s fascinating archives, from its founding in London on 4th July 1968 to the present. The book explores the triumphs and achievements of an organisation whose charitable aim is to promote the sheer beauty and allurement of the rose around the world. Illustrated throughout with many splendid colour and black and white images, it celebrates past Conventions, International Trials, Gardens of Excellence, and much more.

The book is a must for any rose enthusiast and would make an ideal gift.


£20.00 (twenty pounds sterling) Plus, postage and packing charges: United Kingdom £4.00 Europe £15.00 (By Air) Rest of World £22.00 (By Air) or £13.00 (By Surface Mail)

We are unable to process payments by credit or bankers’ cards. Please contact us with your requirements, and we will send you details on how payment can be made by International Bank draft.

Email: info@worldrose.org



Single copy $25.00 including shipping or

Twelve copy for $ 240.00 with free shipping to one
address in USA. Reduce cost to $ 20.00 per copy


Single copy $40.00 including shipping
Higher cost due to airmail package

Payment, mailing address & email to
3053 Laurel Canyon Boulevard,
Studio City, California 91604

Inquiries send email message to: JudgeROSES@gmail.com


Twelve copy for $ 340,00 to be shipped to one
address Reduce cost to $ 28.30 per copy


The World Federation of Rose Societies (WFRS) was founded in 1968 in London, England by representatives from the rose societies of Australia, Belgium, Israel, New Zealand, Romania, South Africa, Great Britain and the United States of America. Its stated purpose was to hold international rose conferences and act as a clearing house for rose research.

At its first conference in New Zealand in 1971, Canada, India, Japan and Switzerland were also present. The objectives set out in the constitution adopted then still hold sway today.

They are:

  • To encourage and facilitate the interchange of information about and knowledge of the rose between national rose societies
  • To coordinate the holding of international conventions and exhibitions
  • To encourage, and where appropriate, sponsor research into problems concerning the rose
  • To establish common standards for judging rose seedlings
  • To assist in coordinating the registration of rose names
  • To establish a uniform system of rose classification
  • To grant international honours and awards
  • To encourage and advance international cooperation on all matters concerning the rose

Ambitious and lofty goals! Some have been met and others have been more illusive to achieve, especially when dealing with 40 very independent rose societies.


To date there have been 18 World Rose Conferences, usually held at three year intervals. The next conference will be Thursday 27th October to Thursday 3rd November 2022, hosted by the National Rose Society of Australia. In the intervening years regional conferences are held. The WFRS gives awards to outstanding roses and to stars of the rose world. We also honour outstanding rose gardens and rose books.

We are working to encourage common standards for judging new seedling roses, and we show the current international trials winners on our website.

The WFRS facilitates the exchange of information about the rose. Every national rose society knows about roses in their own country. They know the history, where and when roses bloom, the most favoured varieties, rose shows, trials, conventions, great rose gardens, nurseries and hybridisers. To make this information more readily available around the world, the WFRS maintains contact and event information for each member national rose society on our website and publishes World Rose News several times a year.


2003 – Mr. Richard Balfour (Dick) (deceased) – Great Britain
2003 – Baroness Lily de Gerlache de Gomery (deceased) – Belgium
2009 – Mr. David Ruston (deceased) – Australia
2022 – Mrs. Helga Brichet – Italy


1968 – Baroness Lily de Gerlache de Gomery – Belgium
1971 – Raymond Allen – United States of America
1974 – Frank Bowen – Great Britain
1976 – Fred Ziady – South Africa
1979 – David Gilad – Israel
1981 – Lily de Gerlache de Gomery – Belgium
1983 – Richard Balfour – United Kingdom
1985 – Vincent Gioia – United States of America
1988 – Susan Begg – Argentina
1991 – David Ruston – Australia

1994 – Ethel Freeman – Canada
1997 – Helga Brichet – Italy
2000 – Kenneth Grapes – Great Britain
2003 – Thomas Cairns – United States of America
2006 – Gérald Meylan – Switzerland
2009 – Sheenagh Harris – South Africa
2012 – Steve Jones – United States of America
2015 – Kelvin Trimper – Australia
2022 – Henrianne de Briey – Belgium